News & Events

Good Sports Awards 2019 Winners Celebrated at Parliament House

News & Events / Good Sports Awards 2019 Winners Celebrated at Parliament House

Some of Australia’s best community sporting clubs were proudly celebrated at this year’s national Good Sports Awards, held today at Parliament House in Canberra.

They’ve been honoured for their commitment to building healthy and inclusive environments, where members look for each other in the areas of alcohol and tobacco management, safe transportation, healthy eating, mental health and positive spectator behaviour.

Winning clubs inspiring positive change

Redpa Football Club from north-west Tasmania was crowned Good Sports Club of the Year, for inspiring positive change and building a healthy, family-friendly club. They received $1,000 to mark their achievement.

President Shane Hine credited the Good Sports program for its support in making the rural club the inclusive place it is today.

“For the past 20 years our club has been working towards shifting its culture. The Good Sports program has helped us move forwards in leaps and bounds,” Mr Hine said.

Why Redpa Football Club is 2019 Club of the Year.

Having reached the highest level of the Good Sports program, Redpa Football Club holds regular alcohol-free events, provides safe transport options at events where alcohol is consumed and has implemented a Smoking Management Policy.

Redpa Football Club also goes above and beyond to encourage participation. For example, they have worked towards this by running free buses to and from training. They also provide dinner for junior players.

Minister for Youth and Sport, Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck, praised this year’s award winners and finalists. He believes they are the true definition of community champions.

“All of the Good Sports Awards finalists should feel incredibly proud of their efforts. As a result, they’re building strong, welcoming and healthy environments,” Minister Colbeck said.

“Sporting clubs are the beating heart of many communities. Clubs that demonstrate healthy behaviours are role models for local families and the whole community. I am particularly proud that Redpa is leading the way,” Minister Colbeck added.


We congratulate this year’s Award winners: 

  • National Good Sports Club of the Year – Redpa Football Club from Tasmania
  • Good Sports Club Champion of the Year – Rachel Fosdick of Palmerston and Regional Basketball Association
  • Rookie Club of the Year – Glenorchy District Junior Football Club from Tasmania
  • Healthy Minds Club of the Year – Devonport Gymnastics Club from Tasmania
  • Healthy Eating Club of the Year – Softball Far North Queensland
  • nib foundation Junior Club of the Year – Queanbeyan Whites Junior Rugby Club from NSW
  • Tackling Illegal Drugs Club of the Year – Queanbeyan Junior Tigers Australian Football Club from NSW
  • Safe Transport Club of the Year – Pyramid Hill Football-Netball Club

State Club of the Year winners:

  • ACT Tuggeranong Bulldogs Australian Football Club
  • NSW Newcastle Netball Association
  • NT Jingili BMX Club
  • QLD Emerald Brothers Cricket Club
  • SA Golden Grove Football Club
  • Vic Geelong Rangers Soccer club
  • WA Quinns District Netball Club


More Good Sports Awards news and club stories to come!

Keep up to date with all things Good Sports